Six Nations 2014: Dates, Times, Fixtures, Live Stream and TV Info

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Six Nations 2014: Dates, Times, Fixtures, Live Stream and TV Info
Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

The Northern Hemisphere's premier international rugby union tournament is once again welcomed back to European shores this coming weekend, with Wales looking to win the Six Nations title for a record third time in succession.

However, the giants of England, Ireland, France, Scotland and Italy will each have something to say about the championship's defence, and the tightest tournament yet promises to entertain in vast quantity.

It's a competition that one wouldn't want to miss a minute of, and we've compiled all the necessary viewing information to ensure that doesn't have to be the case.

2014 Six Nations Fixture List and Viewing Information
Date Time Fixture Venue TV Info Stream
Saturday, Feb. 1 2:30 p.m. GMT/9:30 a.m. ET Wales vs. Italy Millennium Stadium BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Feb. 1 5 p.m. GMT/12 p.m. ET France vs, England Stade de France BBC One BBC Sport website
Sunday, Feb. 2 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET Ireland vs. Scotland Aviva Stadium BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Feb. 8 2:30 p.m. GMT/9:30 a.m. ET Ireland vs. Wales Aviva Stadium BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Feb. 8 5 p.m. GMT/12 p.m. ET Scotland vs. England Murrayfield BBC One BBC Sport website
Sunday, Feb. 9 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET France vs. Italy Stade de France BBC One BBC Sport website
Friday, Feb. 21 8 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET Wales vs. France Millennium Stadium BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Feb. 22 1:30 p.m. GMT/8:30 a.m. ET Italy vs. Scotland Stadio Olimpico BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Feb. 22 4 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET England vs. Ireland Twickenham BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Mar. 8 2:30 p.m. GMT/9:30 a.m. ET Ireland vs. Italy Aviva Stadium BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Mar. 8 5 p.m. GMT/12 p.m. ET Scotland vs. France Murrayfield BBC One BBC Sport website
Sunday, Mar. 9 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET England vs. Wales Twickenham BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Mar. 15 12 p.m. GMT/7 a.m. ET Italy vs. England Stadio Olimpico BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Mar. 15 2:45 p.m. GMT/9:45 a.m. ET Wales vs. Scotland Millennium Stadium BBC One BBC Sport website
Saturday, Mar. 15 5 p.m. GMT/12 p.m. ET France vs. Ireland Stade de France BBC One BBC Sport website

BBC Sport

 

Breaking Down First Round Fixtures

Wales vs. Italy

Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

Wales couldn't hope for a far better way to begin their journey in 2014, welcoming one of the competition's more regular minnows Italy to the Millennium Stadium.

Save for Ryan Jones, Ian Evans, Rhys Patchell and Jonathan Davies, Warren Gatland hasn't got many major injury or suspension concerns heading into the opening stages of his side's competition.

Patchell missing out is a special disappointment for the injured Cardiff Blues' youngster, whom the Western Mail's Simon Thomas had tipped to be Wales' starting fly-half for the tournament:

The November internationals were a brilliant opportunity for the New Zealander to blood new talent, and while absences, particularly in the centres, provided some cause for concern, a wealth of new faces stepped up to the occasion and are now in the mix to star once again.

Italy had one of their most fruitful campaigns in Six Nations history last year, managing a fourth-place finish ahead of Ireland and France, but have since struggled to capitalise on that movement.

It's highly unlikely that Jacques Brunel's outfit will be able to maintain such a strong stance in the standings now that their bigger opponents have been scorned, with a trip to Cardiff making for a fierce environment to commence in.

 

France vs. England

Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

It may be all too short-sighted, but an opener between France and England promises to have massive ramifications this year in particular, with each country's chances of winning the title open to considerable damage.

Granted, the occasion between these two is always a massive one, but Les Bleus are bouncing back from a 2013 that was hugely unspectacular for sizeable portions, and could be of great danger once again now that their tails are up.

Last year's Wooden Spoon winners welcome an England team in altogether different form, Stuart Lancaster's line-up having enjoyed a very productive past two years under their coach's command, and striving to make up for the 30-3 loss against Wales last year which crushed their Six Nations hopes.

A massive chunk of this encounter will be decided in the centres, where Philippe Saint-Andre boasts huge talents in the shapes of Wesley Fofana and Mathieu Bastareaud, while England are still coping with the injury of Manu Tuilagi and arguably see midfield as the most shallow area of their squad.

 

Ireland vs. Scotland

Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

A Celtic clash to kick of the festivities between Ireland and Scotland has all the makings to be a feisty fixture this year, with Scott Johnson's Aviva Stadium visitors hoping to build on the third-place finish achieved in 2013.

This will be Johnson's last Six Nations tournament at the helm of the Scots, with Vern Cotter soon to replace the interim coach, giving special sentiment for his side to impress in particular.

Under Johnson, the boys from the north have succeeded in adding a much stronger attacking aspect to their game, but some of the old weaknesses linger on.

Joe Schmidt, on the other hand, hasn't been in his newest position quite long enough to warrant a style or visible method just yet, although his encouraging introduction of the youth will have gone down well in recent months.

The New Zealander has succeeded in helping the Irish cope with the transition of having not too long ago losing a raft of senior internationals; his selection process proving to be on the money for the most part.

In Dublin, Scotland will hope that their renown at the breakdown will help them scrape points away from the turf, but this is an Irish side that went toe-to-toe with the All Blacks two months ago and only just finished as runners-up.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Rugby Union

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.