Six Nations 2014: Updated Table, Fixtures and Predictions After Week 2

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Six Nations 2014: Updated Table, Fixtures and Predictions After Week 2
Thibault Camus/Associated Press

Week 2 of this year's Six Nations was a dramatic one for transformation in the competition, with Ireland's win over Wales having a huge impact on the standings.

France also maintained their 100 percent start to the tournament, while England bounced back from defeat in Paris to stage a confidence boosting win over the Scottish.

2014 Six Nations Table After Week 2
Position Country Played Won Drawn Lost Points Difference Tries Table Points
1 Ireland 2 2 0 0 +45 5 4
2 France 2 2 0 0 +22 6 4
3 England 2 1 0 1 +18 4 2
4 Wales 2 1 0 1 −15 2 2
5 Italy 2 0 0 2 −28 3 0
6 Scotland 2 0 0 2 −42 0 0

RBS6Nations.com

This weekend sees Europe's giants break before resuming the action in Week 3, with a full schedule of fixtures and predictions detailed up ahead. 

2014 Six Nations Remaining Fixtures and Predictions
Date Time Fixture Venue Prediction
Friday, Feb. 21 8 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET Wales vs. France Millennium Stadium Wales by 4
Saturday, Feb. 22 1:30 p.m. GMT/8:30 a.m. ET Italy vs. Scotland Stadio Olimpico Italy by 7
Saturday, Feb. 22 4 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET England vs. Ireland Twickenham Ireland by 6
Saturday, Mar. 8 2:30 p.m. GMT/9:30 a.m. ET Ireland vs. Italy Aviva Stadium Ireland by 10
Saturday, Mar. 8 5 p.m. GMT/12 p.m. ET Scotland vs. France Murrayfield France by 10
Sunday, Mar. 9 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET England vs. Wales Twickenham Wales by 1
Saturday, Mar. 15 12 p.m. GMT/7 a.m. ET Italy vs. England Stadio Olimpico England by 6
Saturday, Mar. 15 2:45 p.m. GMT/9:45 a.m. ET Wales vs. Scotland Millennium Stadium Wales by 18
Saturday, Mar. 15 5 p.m. GMT/12 p.m. ET France vs. Ireland Stade de France Ireland by 4

BBC Sport

 

Week 3 Fixtures and Predictions

Wales vs. France

Having suffered defeat at the Aviva Stadium over the weekend, one more loss would effectively rule out Wales' chances of becoming the first team ever to clinch a third successive Six Nations title.

And that crossroads is only dramatised further by the fact that it's France, one of the two teams in the competition yet to taste defeat and currently vying for top spot, who visit the Millennium Stadium.

Warren Gatland's tactics will need a significant recollection following on from the 26-3 drubbing at the hands of Joe Schmidt's men, but Italy showed in the first half last weekend that France can be slowed and forced into their mistakes.

Wales' hopes of spoiling Les Bleus' parade are far from impossible, but it will require a tremendous response from their Dublin loss, which is bound to be boosted by their Cardiff surroundings.

Prediction: Wales win by four

 

Italy vs. Scotland

Italy's own profligacy ended up being their downfall in Paris, with several kicking attempts wasted and sloppy mistakes in possession giving some opportunities to their premature endings.

As a result, France took their chances with both hands, and a 21-point haul in the first 12 minutes of the second half was enough to put the result beyond any shade of doubt.

The Azzurri are ever regarded as being a more dangerous being when playing in Rome, and that advantage should be enough to see Jacques Brunel's side make their way past a Scotland team that have scored just six points in two matches.

Prediction: Italy win by seven

 

England vs. Ireland

Another fixture that's likely to have great impact on who eventually lifts the silverware come competition's end, Ireland's place at the top of the Six Nations standings faces a massive threat next weekend.

England may have been shown up at the Stade de France in Week 1, but the matchup was decided by the slimmest of margins and home advantage will be at their backs this time around.

Just as they did against Wales, Schmidt's men may opt to grind out a defensively robust, frustrating game at Twickenham, with France remaining as the only substantial threat if they manage to come away from London with points in hand.

Prediction: Ireland win by six

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Rugby Union

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.